The cause of Asymmetric Matrix in Bempp

I am studying the acoustic scattering simulation. I found that the assembled matrix is asymmetric for Bempp. But it is strange because the equation solved in [BEM for Acoustic scattering ]((7) (PDF) Fast Methods applied to BEM Solvers for Acoustic Propagation Problems (researchgate.net)) is similar in Bempp, but the matrix in the literature is dense complex symmtric while the matrix in Bempp is asymmtric. I am wondering what causes the asymmetries in Bempp, the derivative of Green function or other sources?

PS: the description in the attached literature is captured as below:

Best wishes,
  Long

Dear Long, the developers will know better than me for definite, but I think this could come from the quadrature scheme, or more exactly, the regularisation process for the singular integrals. I implemented HYENA the scheme that bempp uses (or used to use at least) some years ago and it was asymmetrical.

This will only explain asymmetry for self-interaction or near neighbours, however. If you’re getting it in other places then it might be your choice of approximation spaces. For example, if you’re looking at the discretised weak-form boundary operator, then your dual-to-range space will need to match your range space in order to achieve symmetry. If you go for the strong-form instead, then there is a matrix solution going on internally, and even more possible reasons for asymmetry could arise.

I hope that helps. Best regards, Jon

1 Like