How to use BEMPP for Source Driven EM Problems

Hey,

I am new to BEMPP, and I am trying to solve a driven source problem. Specifically, I am trying to define a source at a specific edge of the mesh of my geometry.

How would I go about and identifying the edge to flag it and then defining a source there?

Thank you,
Ricardo

Hello,

Once you have defined your grid, you can use the following to print the coordinates of the points at the end of each edge.

for i, e in enumerate(grid.edges.T): 
     print(i, grid.vertices[:, e[0]], grid.vertices[:, e[1]])

By putting an if statement in the loop, you could use something like this to identify the edges you are interested in.

You can then see which DOF number in your space corresponds to your chosen edge by looking at grid.element_edges and space.local2global. These tell you the three edge numbers for each triangular cell and the three DOF numbers for each triangular cell. (For RWG and SNC spaces, the DOF numbers on each edge are currently always the same as the number of the edge, so these two will contain the same data. I guess there’s no guarantee that this won’t change in future, but I can’t see any reason why it’ll change in the near future.)

You can then initialise a GridFunction using a vector of coefficients with the coefficients set at your chosen index.

Hope this helps. If this isn’t what you’re looking for, do you have a small/simplified example of the kind of thing you’re trying to do?

All the best,
Matthew

Thanks Matthew,

I was able to identify and obtain the edge of interest, but I am having an issue defining the coefficients for the GridFunction.

For reference, I am trying to excite the middle edge of a rectangle sheet of length L, and width W. Once I identify the edge, I tried initializing a GridFunction with a vector of coefficients, where it is a vector of zeros and a specific value at the edge index. I get an error when attempting to solve the LU decomposition:

ValueError: dimension mismatch